Among the few sacrifices that an āhitāgni (one who has ceremonially kindled the Vedic fires) is expected to perform regularly, Darśa and Pūrṇamāsa should specially be mentioned. They belong to the class called ‘iṣṭi’ (needing four priests) and are performed on the new-moon day and full-moon day respectively.

During these sacrifices, certain minor offerings are made before and after the principal offerings. Such offerings made before the principal ones are called prayājas (pra = before) and those made after the principal ones are termed anuyājas (anu = after).

The prayājas are oblations of ājya (clarified butter or ghee) and are five in number, addressed to deities like samidhaḥ, narāśaṁsa and others.

The anuyājas are only three and offered to barhis, narāśaṁsa and agni sviṣṭakṛt.

The word is sometimes spelled as anūyāja also.