(‘the non-living or inanimate’)

Jaina metaphysics divides dravya or substance into two broad groups: astikāya (that which has a body and hence extended in space) and anastikāya (that which has no body). The astikāyas are again sub-divided into jīva (animate) and ajīva (inanimate). Ajīva is further subdivided into dharma (the medium necessary for motion), adharma (medium necessary for rest or immobility), ākāśa (space) and pudgala (matter).