According to the Hindu purāṇas there are fourteen lokas or worlds in this universe, generally called Caturdaśa-bhuvanas.

Of these, six lokas are above the earth (Bhūloka) and seven below it.

Bhuvarloka is the first in this series, above the earth. It occupies the space between the earth and the sun. It is inhabited by munis (sages) and siddhas (perfected beings).